Matilda Awards 2015 – nominations and an invitation




The Matilda Awards were initiated in 1987 by theatre reviewers Alison Cotes and Sue Gough, who felt there should be some form of recognition that celebrated and promoted the excellence of southeast Queensland’s theatre industry.


Artists of national and international stature feature among past winners, who include:
Bille Brown, Robyn Nevin, Sally McKenzie, Russell Kiefel, Bill Haycock, Anthony Phelan, Jennifer Flowers, Sue Rider, Eugene Gilfedder, Robert Arthur, David Walters, Aubrey Mellor, Bryan Nason, David Brown, Jim Vile, David Clendinning, Dale Ferguson, David Bell, Andrew Buchanan, Brenna Lee-Cooney, John Batchelor, Greg Clarke, Hayden Spencer, Babette Stephens, Wesley Enoch, John Kotzas, Michael Gow.


For a practitioner to be nominated for work on an individual production, that production first must comply with the following guidelines:


  • the production was either a fully professional production – pro-am, community and student works are not eligible
  • international and national touring productions are not eligible
  • the work must have been seen by at least half the judges.


If there is no category for a show that impressed all the judges, a category may be created to reward that show.


Guidelines for voting:

For each category, a short list of four nominees will be made (to be released on the website prior to the ceremony), unless there were insufficient worthy candidates to do so.

The voting process is preferential. Committee members will award four points to their first choice, three points to their second, two to their third, and one point to their fourth.

The aggregate points received by an eligible production will be averaged by attendance to ensure a fair weighting of votes in proportion to the number of committee members who saw each.

Judges cannot vote in categories where they have a conflict of interest – for instance if they or a family member has been involved in a production in any way.


One Gold Matilda honouring an individual or creative team for an outstanding contribution beyond the definitions of the Silver categories will be announced on the evening of 29th February, 2016.


The committee decided at its January 12 meeting to award this single Gold Matilda, rather than five, as was previously the case, directly influenced by industry feedback that the Gold and Silver categories should be streamlined to avoid confusion and repetition between the two. The committee regrets it did not act to amend the website to reflect this decision before the Silver Matildas shortlist was announced.




Silver Matilda Awards will be presented to an artist or company for commendable work in each of the following categories:


Best Mainstage Production
Brisbane, Queensland Theatre Company
Dracula, shake & stir theatre co
Grounded, Queensland Theatre Company
Oedipus Doesn’t Live Here Anymore, Queensland Theatre Company & Queensland Government




Best Independent Production
Heavenly Bodies, Pentimento Productions in association with Brisbane Powerhouse
My Love Had a Black Speed Stripe, Fractal Theatre
The Pillowman, Shock Therapy Productions in partnership with Brisbane Powerhouse
Slammed, Crosstown Artists
Tiptoe, Brisbane Powerhouse in partnership with Pentimento Productions




Best Male Actor in a Leading Role
Sandro Colarelli, My Love Had a Black Speed Stripe
Dash Kruck, Brisbane
Regan Lynch, Heavenly Bodies
Nick Skubij, Dracula




Best Female Actor in a Leading Role
Carol Burns, Happy Days
Libby Munro, Grounded
Christen O’Leary, Medea
Melissa Western, Barbara and Barry’s Sweet, Sour and Saucy




Best Male Actor in a Supporting Role
Brian Lucas, The Seagull
Tama Matheson, The Pillowman
Silvan Rus, Titus
Colin Smith, The Odd Couple




Best Female Actor in a Supporting Role
Kimberley Hodgson, Into the Woods
Sarah McLeod, Tiptoe
Naomi Price, Ladies in Black
Emily Tomlins, The Motion of Light in Water




Best Director
Sam Foster, The Pillowman
Michael Futcher, Dracula
Andrea Moor, Grounded
John Peek, Slammed




Best Design (Set and costumes)
Josh McIntosh – set design on Dracula
Josh McIntosh – set design on Sweet, Sour and Saucy
Raymond Milner – production design on Heavenly Bodies
Sarah Winter – set design on Medea




Best Technical Design (Lighting, multimedia and sound)
Jason Glenwright – lighting design on Dracula
Ryan Mahony – sound design on Heavenly Bodies
Raymond Pittmann – video design on De Profundis
David Walters – lighting design on Brisbane




Bille Brown Award for the Best Emerging Artist
Billy Bourchier, Pirates of Penzance
Kimberley Hodgson, Into the Woods
Georgina Hopson, Pirates of Penzance & Into the Woods
Sarah Morrison, Ladies in Black




The Lord Mayor’s Award for Best New Australian Work
Brisbane, by Matthew Ryan
I Might Take My Shirt Off, by Dash Kruck with music by Chris Perren
Oedipus Doesn’t Live Here Anymore, by Daniel Evans
Slammed, by Stefanie Brooke Harper




Best Musical or Cabaret
Barbara and Barry’s Sweet, Sour and Saucy, Judith Wright Centre
Boy&Girl2: Mercury Rising, Oscar Theatre Company & Brisbane Powerhouse
I Might Take My Shirt Off, QPAC in association with QLD Cabaret Festival, Jai Higgs & Dash Kruck
Ladies in Black, Queensland Theatre Company, in association with QPAC


See you on Monday February 29 at 6:30pm at Gardens Theatre – RSVP here.

0 Responses to “Matilda Awards 2015 – nominations and an invitation”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: