15
Jun
13

Poppy’s Perspective: Circa Zoo Wonderland

 

Circa Zoo: Wonderland

The Noosa Long Weekend Festival

The J Theatre

Saturday 15th June 2013

 

Reviewed by Poppy Eponine

 

Circa Zoo_photo byRed Eclipse Photography for NLW Festival 2013Circa Zoo is a troupe of young performers daring to create and deliver spectacular contemporary circus art through performance.

 

See a glimpse of their world through the elegance and tenderness of relationships and experience the true meaning of adventure being about the journey, not the destination.

 

Based at the Judith Wright Centre of Contemporary Arts in Fortitude Valley, the Circa Zoo program is just one of many circus training programs run by internationally renowned contemporary circus company, Circa. Circa Zoo is Circa’s extension performance program for talented young people who, in following Circa’s ethos, re-imagine circus in their own way under the guidance of trainers and directors.

 

Circa Zoo is a troupe of young performers daring to create and deliver spectacular contemporary circus art through performance.

 

Macquarie Noosa Long Weekend Festival Day 2 Sat am © 2013 Barry Alsop Photographer Eyes Wide Open IMAGES

At The J Theatre I went to Circa Zoo and when we walked into The J it looked beautiful with beautiful decorations, just especially for The Noosa Long Weekend. We saw Trena and Ian and Travis but I didn’t remember Travis because I was too little when he went to WAAPA. I was a bit shy when I saw him. I didn’t want to give him a hug but I know Trena so I gave her a big bear hug.

 

When we went in to find our seats we saw coloured hoops along the front of the stage. It was interesting because it looked like they might throw the hoops into the audience. The hoops looked like the middle of the pom poms I make.

 

 

The best tricks were the swinging body slams.

 

 

Macquarie Noosa Long Weekend Festival Day 2 Sat am © 2013 Barry Alsop Photographer Eyes Wide Open IMAGES

And the body slams, the hanging hoops, the swing, and the giant round toys that the youngest girl in the troupe had, and they hid behind them. She had the mini set of the round toys. They did handstands on them. And one kid tried to steal the toys from her. There were other funny acts like that.

 

They didn’t roll over the giant one, but they tumbled, galloping on their hands. Then they rolled the biggest one over a kid. Two kids! That was very cheeky. And at the end they used it to make a tree. They all made a tree with their bodies and that was nice. They seemed to all be friends, and that’s nice. It was like it was a family tree, like the people make one big family.

 

20130615EWOI123600C

It was fabulous and I loved it. It wasn’t just the tricks. It was funny. It was funny because it was cheeky when they rolled the giant toy over the two girls but it looked like they probably didn’t mind because they’d practiced doing it.

 

It was interesting when the girl did the hoop tricks. She did tricks that I think you would need to do many, many days of practice for, unless you’ve already done years of hoop practice because you’ve grown up as a circus kid. She had a beautiful face, her expression was beautiful and I liked the eye contact she had with everyone in the audience.

 

The music was beautiful and it was my favourite kind of music when it was upbeat and I could find two beats in the music. It was a good choice for the types of acts there were. They had a good sense that it would be good for the show and I loved it. The music made me bounce up and down. I was dancing in my seat! Maybe the people behind me had to bounce up and down or move around to see because I was dancing. It would have been a bit annoying for the people in that row. BUT I hope they still enjoyed the show.

 

Macquarie Noosa Long Weekend Festival Day 2 Sat am © 2013 Barry Alsop Photographer Eyes Wide Open IMAGES

The circus kids had extremely wonderful faces. Their faces looked surprised, like in Alice in Wonderland, when Alice saw a rabbit in clothes.

 

They must have had the best teachers because they did so well. After the show we met Abby, one of the trainers, so I have to give her a bit of love because she’s one of the trainers.

 

I know how hard it is to put on a show because I just did my BYTES concert, but the difference is that this show was harder and they must have practiced A LOT!

 

 

Macquarie Noosa Long Weekend Festival Day 2 Sat am © 2013 Barry Alsop Photographer Eyes Wide Open IMAGESThey were brave.

 

You’ve gotta’ be brave to be a circus person. I wish I could do it. I would need to practice A LOT! I would like to learn the balance work and if I was able to, I would like to do the swinging slams. I’ve actually been practicing already. Dad can catch me when they swing me into his arms. And I can do both types of splits.

 

I won’t get to do the workshop next week but when Circa Zoo comes back to Noosa I would like to work with them. Mum says we had better tell the mums and dads to BOOK EARLY!

 

 

IT WAS THE BEST!

 

 

Macquarie Noosa Long Weekend Festival Day 2 Sat am © 2013 Barry Alsop Photographer Eyes Wide Open IMAGES

Poppy Eponine just turned seven and she knows what she’s talking about.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sunday 16th June at the Festival

 

10am David Malouf (The J) in conversation with ABC’s Richard Fidler

10am IFilmaking workshops for kids 14-17years (The J)

10.30am African Drumming Workshop (Bicentennial Hall)

11.30am Women in Power Forum (Outrigger Little Hastings Street Resort) – I’m live-tweeting it!

11.45am African Drumming Workshop #2 (Bicentennial Hall)

2pm The New Palm Court Orchestra (The J)

3pm Tea Treats and Tales cooking demo and afternoon tea with Janelle Bloom (RACV Noosa Resort)

3.30pm Refugees Forum (Outrigger Little Hastings Street Resort)

7pm Tom Sharah ‘Its Raining Me’ & Sarah-Louise Young ‘Julie Madly Deeply’ double bill show (The J)

 

0 Responses to “Poppy’s Perspective: Circa Zoo Wonderland”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

