30
Apr
13

Poppy’s Perspective: Katie Noonan Songbook

SONGBOOK

Katie Noonan

With Special Guest Louise King

Flinders Performance Centre

Saturday 27th April 2013

 

Reviewed by Poppy Eponine

 

Cello-image

Louise King played her cello and it was beautiful. It was so beautiful that it nearly put me to sleep. I was already a little bit tired. The concert was at bedtime but I didn’t want to miss it. I didn’t know the cello music but I knew Katie’s music. I’ve heard it ever since I was born. I listen to it all the time and it’s the most popular one I’ve chosen in the car and at home. It’s Elixir, when Katie sings with Zac.

 

Louise was amazing to watch. She was ALWAYS SMILING!

 

Her hair was dressed up beautifully. It was glossy in the lights.

 

It was the first time I ever saw somebody playing the cello. It sounded beautiful because I’ve never heard it before.

 

Katie had shining hair in the lights too. She was ALWAYS SMILING TOO! I feel amazing when I listen to Katie’s music. I feel like a jungle person because sometimes I can hear a didgeridoo sound, like wood in the jungle. It’s funky! It makes me dance. It makes me smile. It makes me feel like I’m jumping – flying – on a trampoline. The words are fabulous. You can hear them very clearly and she sings so well. Katie is the best at singing her own songs because she made them up. She’s fabulous at her own music and if she can believe it, she can sing anything.

 

The chairs broke before Katie could even start singing and somebody fell off but they were okay, and Katie apologised to everybody even though it wasn’t her fault that the chairs broke, and she started singing. She was very calm and kind.

 

I liked the song with the kids, Heart’s a Mess. Katie said it was the best any kids had ever sung it with her. Mum wasn’t surprised because she knows the kids and the teachers at Matthew Flinders. Their teacher is Sally and she is excellent to teach them so well. It was my favourite song. It was groovy. I really liked how the kids could sing. Any kids can sing but these kids got to work with Katie. I’m nearly seven and I haven’t even gotten to work with Katie yet. It’s very special that they got to work with Katie. My cousin worked with Katie at her school too. Aren’t the kids lucky, to work with Katie?

 

Every album is fabulous. It sounds like she’s a princess when she sings.

 

It’s like she’s got a magic touch so all the vibrations always sound pretty, and never sound bad.

 

On Saturday night some music was putting me to sleep. Katie sings sleepy music AND fast music. The sleepy music is relaxing and I was sleeping and hearing it in my dreams. I curled up with my head on mummy’s foot and it was very comfy so I could sleep and listen at the same time.

 

I’m listening to it now (if I listen I can get more words out of me!), and I love it! It’s Elixir. On Saturday night I remember when she sang Tip of Memory and it was so beautiful I felt like I was flying. Mummy loved that one. And mummy’s favourite is always Breathe In Now. I’ve been listening to Breathe In Now since before I was born. Not everybody likes the same music but this is music I will never forget. IT WAS THE BEST!

 

ktsongbook-web-banner

 

IMG_3463

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Poppy Eponine is nearly seven and she knows what she’s talking about.

 

 

5 Responses to “Poppy’s Perspective: Katie Noonan Songbook”


  1. April 30, 2013 at 8:58 pm

    I really enjoyed reading your review Poppy. Congratulations. You really captured the essence of the night with your words. Now if ever Mummy can’t write up a show, she has someone most suitable to fill in for her…you xxx Miss Robyn

  2. 2 Susana
    April 30, 2013 at 10:04 pm

    Wonderful review Poppy. I love Katie’s music too. She does have that magic touch – every sound sounding perfect, exactly the way sounds are meant to be heard. You and your mum have fantastic taste.

  3. 3 Liam
    May 1, 2013 at 5:28 am

    Well reviewed. I think you will make a wonderful writer as you have a lovely way with words. Keep it up. Well done.

  4. 4 Julie Spilios
    May 1, 2013 at 8:23 am

    Lovely review Poppy, you are very talented just like your mummy and daddy…..


Leave a Reply

