Queensland Literary Awards




Delloites Managing Partner Tim Biggs, Arts Minister Ian Walker & QLA Chairman Dr Stuart Glover. Source: The Courier Mail

The Chairman of Queensland Literary Awards (QLA) Dr Stuart Glover, today officially opened nominations to the 2013 Awards. Nominations close 5pm May 24th.

Established through people-power, last year the community rallied to keep the literary awards alive. QLA is now the largest suite of independently managed literary prizes in Australia. In 2013 prizes will be awarded to writers in 11 categories.

“Queensland’s commitment and love of literature is on display again this year. The Awards highlights the importance of books and writing to the whole community. In 2013 we are thrilled to be back with the support of corporate Queensland, its major institutions and the wider community. Queenslanders have come together to reward and recognise our writers’ achievements,” Dr Glover said.

QLA is delighted to welcome back inaugural major partners The Courier-Mail and the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund. Corporate leaders Deloitte and Gadens join the growing band of partners that now includes State Library of Queensland, University of Queensland, Griffith University and University of Southern Queensland.

“Our corporate and community partners’ commitment enables $5,000 prizes to be awarded to winners in all award categories. It also means we can support new writing through mentorships for six unpublished writers. We are looking forward to receiving hundreds of literary nominations from all parts of the country,” Dr Glover said.

QLA features nine prizes open to writers from around Australia, including the nationally prestigious David Unaipon Award that offers a $5,000 prize and a publishing contract to an unpublished Indigenous writer. Two other award categories specifically recognise and support Queensland writers. Nominations for 2013 will close on 24 May.

The Courier-Mail People’s Choice Queensland Book of the Year gives the community an opportunity to vote for its favourite Queensland book. The Emerging Queensland Author–Manuscript Award delivers a $5,000 prize and publishing contract to a winning manuscript through the support of Queensland’s leading publishing house, University of Queensland Press.



Dr Glover said that QLA is very grateful for the community support already received; however they are still seeking partners and donations to cover costs of this ambitious Awards program.

A fundraising campaign will be launched in May 2013.



QLD Literary Awards

2013 Award Categories are:


The Courier-Mail People’s Choice Queensland Book of the Year Award Deloitte Fiction Book Award University of Queensland Non-Fiction Book Award University of Southern Queensland History Book Award


State Library of Queensland Poetry Collection – Judith Wright Calanthe Award Australian Short Stories Collection – Steele Rudd Award Griffith University Young Adult Book Award Children’s Book Award


Gadens Feature Film Script Award Unpublished Indigenous Writer – David Unaipon Award (supported by the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund and University of Queensland Press) Emerging Queensland Author- Manuscript Award (supported by the University of Queensland Press)



0 Responses to “Queensland Literary Awards”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow us on Twitter


%d bloggers like this: