14
Dec
12

Mirusia: A Sneak Peek at How to Make Snow

How to Make Snow

International ARIA Award winning Soprano Mirusia Louwerse took time out from a short break in New Zealand to tell us about a very special new Christmas show… How to Make Snow 

You’ve just wrapped a national tour, which started on the Sunshine Coast and finished up in Sydney. How did it go? It was great! We opened in my home city of Redlands which was really special. It has been fantastic to perform for my Australian fans and friends again and I am just loving being back home.

Which Australian cities do you love and why? Every city has something special about it so it is very hard for me to choose one. I love the harbour in Sydney, the European influence in Melbourne, the area Glenelg in Adelaide…but of course Brisbane is home and it is where my heart is.

What’s your background and how did you come to be a singer? I have Dutch parents, but I was born in Australia, so my parents taught me English through music and singing. And I just loved singing, it was just something I really liked and to their surprise I could hold a tune at 4 years old. I always just continued to sing and there has never been a moment where I didnt want to sing. It has been a big part of my life, in fact it is my life.

You got your start with Andre Rieu. How did that happen? My Aunt in the Netherlands was secretly sending out demo cds and emails to companies in Holland. I actually didn’t realise to what extent she was doing this until one night I had Andre Rieu himself on the phone! He had been looking at my website and asked if I would like to tour with him around the world. I said I would like that very much, and he then asked if he could meet me. So I flew over to Maastricht in The Netherlands and it was an instant connection. I left the next day with a contract in hand and the rest is history!

Mirusia Louwerse

What do you love about working with Andre? He is very spontaneous and spur of the moment. Some of his best decisions have come from just being spontaneous and following his gut feeling and it is a very exciting lifestyle. Also his passion for music is something I share with him and admire.

What do you love about singing? I love that I can touch people hearts just by doing what I love. There is a real power in music.

What are the most important things for young singers to remember? Just remember to sing with passion and don’t think about the technique too much. You naturally have a voice, an therefore I believe everyone can also naturally sing. Just breathe and relax!

Have you got a stage fright story? I personally have never had stage fright but I always feel so sorry for people who do. For me it’s just a huge adrenaline rush.

How do you deal with any nerves? I always think positively and breathe. And also make sure I know the music!

How do you prepare for a performance? I always make sure I have a meal about two hours before a concert. That way I have the energy up. I take my time with hair and make up and getting dressed and I always warm up a little to make sure all my notes are there. I always find it important to be positive and be surrounded by positive people before a concert. It keeps the mood and vibe up.

Tell us about your upcoming performance in the little red company’s original Christmas musical, How to Make Snow. I’m so looking forward to being a part of this new Christmas musical. When Naomi asked me to be a part of it there was no way I could say no. I’m excited about the part that I play and can’t wait to perform with the other talented artists in the show including Luke Kennedy and Bryan Probets. The idea is fantastic and I think Brisbane will just love this fresh new idea.

the little red company

Tell us about working with this creative team. When we first started brainstorming ideas for what music I would sing, I wasn’t sure yet of what my exact role in the storyline was. Looking back now, Luke Kennedy, Michael Manikus and I couldn’t have chosen a better song for my part. Working with Daniel Evans is fantastic. He is such a great Director and the beautiful and touching story that he has written with ideas from Naomi Price is just so special. It’s a delight to work with this fantastic fresh and creative team, and also an honour to call them my friends.

How do you usually approach, and prepare for, a new work? I like to sit back and have a think about the true meaning of the song or musical and think about what it emotionally means to me. I always perform with my full heart and really want to audience to feel how I feel.

What was it that attracted you to this project? I like the fact that How to Make Snow is something new. It’s a new idea, a new way of sharing the Christmas Spirit and it’s appropriate for all ages. When I was a kid I loved seeing musicals and musical shows so the vibrancy and the youthful flair in this show will be remembered by young kids for the rest of their lives. It’s really nice to know that just by performing on stage you can create memories that people will take with them forever. The message of this project is so positive and lovely that I hope everyone will take that away with them.

What can you tell us about your role? I’m playing the role of the beautiful Christmas spirit! It’s a very lovely role to be chosen for, but that’s all I can tell you as I don’t want to give too much away!

Why should we see this show? The wonderful positive message of this show is something you will remember forever. Christmas is a special time to be with family and friends and this is the perfect excuse to do something Christmassy without breaking the budget. The story line and the music are just gorgeous and we throw in complimentary air conditioning and SNOW to help you momentarily be transported from the Brisbane Christmas heat!

What’s next for you? I am currently working on some exciting projects for next year. We are working on a new album, which is so exciting, and also an International Tour. Be on the look out!

Where will you be spending Christmas? For the first time in five years I am finally home again for Christmas. It is something I have missed dearly and I cannot wait to be sailing on the waters of Moreton Bay on Christmas Day again just like I used to do when I was younger.

What does Christmas mean to you? Love. Sharing love with all your friends and family.

What do you hope to see happening by next Christmas? I hope to be signing Christmas messages on my new album, singing around the world and sharing many laughs with friends and family. I hope to see How to Make Snow become a National Christmas Tour.

Mirusia Louwerse

How to Make Snow is selling fast! BOOK HERE

Anything can happen if you just believe…

How to Make Snow is a whimsical journey from wheelie-bin lined suburban streets to far-flung ice-fields of the North Pole, as one young boy tries to fulfill a seemingly impossible holiday wish – to make it snow for Christmas. Classic holiday myths, modern storytelling and song meld in this joyful take on a bona fide Yuletide miracle for anyone who’s ever dreamt of, but never received, a white Christmas.

This special festive event for the whole family stars André Rieu’s ‘Angel of Australia’ – ARIA winning soprano Mirusia Louwerse, The Ten Tenors’ Luke Kennedy and award-winning Australian stage and screen actor Bryan Probets, joined by an ensemble of Brisbane’s finest young actors.

Four performances only at the Edmund Rice Performing Arts Centre, South Brisbane.

Director Daniel Evans

Music Director Luke Kennedy

Choreographer Leah Shelton

Designer Josh McIntosh

Music Coordinator Michael Manikus

Lighting Designer Jason Glenwright

 

Featuring Luke Kennedy, Mirusia Louwerse and Bryan Probets joined by an ensemble of Brisbane’s finest young actors.

How to Make Snow

Leave a Reply

