Queensland Literary Awards Shortlist Announced

62 shining literary lights announced for 

Queensland Literary Awards Shortlist

Australia’s best, Queensland’s brightest lead the charge

The Fix by Nick Earls

From more than 600 entries – a roll call of 62 of Australia’s best writers – starring Queensland’s brightest shining literary lights, the official Shortlist for the 2012 Queensland Literary Awards was announced today at Avid Reader in West End by Queensland Literary Awards Inc. Chair, Dr Stuart Glover.

The Shortlist of 62 finalists over 14 categories is testament to the strength of the awards.

The Queensland Literary Awards (QLA) 2012 recognise established and emerging writers across 14 original categories. The QLA were established on the 4th April 2012, following Queensland Premier Campbell Newman’s announcement that his Government would no longer be supporting the Queensland Premier’s Literary Awards.

Dr Glover said the standard of entry had been overwhelming with leading names like Peter Carey, Anna Funder, Kate Grenville and Frank Moorhouse, Jane Gleeson-White, William McInnes and Brisbane’s Patrick Holland all short listed in different categories.

“In the Young Adult Book category we have five shortlisted, however we could easily have shortlisted 15 given the calibre of entries, it was remarkable. Similarly, the Short Story category attracted one of the strongest fields in years, this will be hotly contested, again testament to the unwavering appeal of the written word,” he said.

“In the Television Script Award category, all five shortlisted have been critically acclaimed already; while the History Book Award sees the multi-nominated “Seduced By Logic” lead the charge. We are thrilled with the entries, the quality of content and the support from Australia’s writers, this is an exciting time as we get to the pointy end of the awards.”

“These awards recognise the value of literature to the Queensland community. The telling and reading of local and national stories is central to our cultural life and to a healthy democracy.  These awards support new Queensland writers, new indigenous writers, and they ensure that Queensland is part of the national conversation about Australian values and the Australian experience.”

“The Queensland Literary Awards have happened this year because businesses, universities, cultural organisations and hundreds of individuals have got behind them. We don’t know what will happen in 2013, but we hope we will continue to receive support from all levels of the community. We would welcome the return of government support, as government is one of many stakeholders in state’s literary life, but regardless, the community has spoken about the importance of writing and literature.  Queensland literary life has transformed itself in the 25 years since Expo, but there is still more work to be done.

An additional category this year is the inaugural The Courier-Mail People’s Choice Queensland Book of the Year, enabling the community to engage with the Literary Awards by voting for their favourite book from six selected by QLA judges. The shortlist includes The Ottoman Motel by Christopher Currie,Closer to Stone by Simon ClearyThe Fix by Nick EarlsThe Promise of Iceland by Kari GislasonRiding the Trains in Japan by Patrick Holland, and Worse Things Happen at Sea by William McInnes and Sarah Watt.

Winners of the 2012 Queensland Literary Awards will be announced at a special event on 4 September, 2012. Further information about the awards can be obtained by visiting www.queenslandliteraryawards.com

2012 Queensland Literary Award Shortlist


Unpublished Indigenous Writer – David Unaipon Award

Siv Parker for Story
Ellen van Neerven-Currie for Hard
Dorothy Williams-Kemp for My Journey that May Never End

Emerging QLD Author – Manuscript Award

Aaron Smibert for Scratches on the Surface
Luke Thomas for Home Mechanics
Catherine Titasey for Island of the Unexpected
Ariella van Luyn for Hidden Objects

Literary or Media Work Advancing Public Debate – Harry Williams Award

Science Book Award

Robyn Arianrhod for Seduced by Logic
Frank Bowden for Gone Viral
Rob Brooks for Sex, Genes and Rock ‘n’ Roll
Dr Richard Smith for Australia: The Time Traveller’s Guide

History Book Award


Peter Carey for The Chemistry of Tears
Anna Funder for All That  I Am
Kate Grenville for Sarah Thornhill
Alex Miller for Autumn Laing     
Frank Moorhouse for Cold Light


Robin de Crespigny for The People Smuggler
Jane Gleeson-White for Double Entry
Patrick Holland for Riding the Trains in Japan
William McInnes & Sarah Watt for Worse Things Happen at Sea
Alice Pung for Her Father’s Daughter

Australian Short Story collection – Steele Rudd Award

Rodney Hall for Silence 
Marion  Halligan for Shooting the Fox 
John Kinsella for In the Shade of the Shady Tree
Ryan O’Neill for The Weight of a Human Heart 
Janette Turner Hospital for Forecast: Turbulence

Judith Wright Calanthe Poetry Award

Anthony Lawrence for The Welfare of my Enemy
David McCooey for Outside
Rhyll McMaster for Late Night Shopping
Peter Rose for Crimson Crop
Simon West for The Yellow Gum’s Conversion 

Children’s Book Award

Pamela Rushby The Horses Didn’t Come Home
Flanagan John for Brotherband: The Outcasts
Libby Gleeson & Freya Blackwood for Look, a Book!
Elizabeth Honey for Ten Blue Wrens
Briony Stewart for Kumiko and the Shadow Catchers

Young Adult Book Award

Kirsty Eagar for Night Beach
Neil Grant for The Ink Bridge
Judith Clarke for Three Summers 
Margo Lanagan for Sea Hearts
Vikki  Wakefield for All I ever wanted

Drama Script (Stage)

Angela Betzien for War Crimes
Wayne Blair for  Bloodland
Patricia Cornelius for Taxi
Rita Kalnejais for Babyteeth
Lally Katz for A Golem Story

Television Script

Blake Ayshford for The Straits  (episode 3 )
Brendan Cowell for The Slap (episode 3)
Liz Doran for Dance Academy (season 2, ep 24)
Anthony Mullins for Strange Calls (episode 3)
Sue Smith for Mabo

Film Script

Louise Fox for Dead Europe
Miro Bilbrough for Being Venice
Shane Armstrong & Shane Krause for Rarer Monsters
Brendan Cowell for Save Your Legs
Worse Things Happen At Sea

0 Responses to “Queensland Literary Awards Shortlist Announced”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow us on Twitter


%d bloggers like this: