2012 National One-Act Playwriting Festival Results

CONGRATULATIONS to the winners of this year’s One-Act Play Festival!

(the finalists of the National One-Act Playwriting Competition)

Congratulations to Brisbane playwright Debra Chalmers on taking out top honours in this year’s National One-Act Playwriting Competition, winning $3000 sponsored by Macquarie Private Wealth, with her comedy, Here’s The Thing.

Debra also won the Audience Choice Award and a Publishing contract with Maverick Musicals.

Here’s the Thing is Debra’s second play!

Winning Playwright Debra Chalmers

It should be noted that without the long-term support of Macquarie and Maverick Musicals, this competition would not be what it is. Thanks must also go to long-time supporter and a major force behind the continuation and evolution of the festival, Synda Turnbull (has Synda been made a Noosa Arts Theatre Life Member yet? IT’S TIME!), to the reading panels, the guest adjudicators and all of the wonderful Noosa Arts Theatre and Noosa Longweekend volunteers.

Cast of the winning play in the National One-Act Playwriting Competition Here’s the Thing by Debra Chalmers
Best Actress (centre) Jodie Bushby

Hugh O’Brien – 2nd place ($2000) Three Angry Brides

Rainee Skinner – 3rd Place ($1000) Boy in the Cardboard Box.

Sue Clapham – Best Director (Boy in the Cardboard Box)

Stephen Moore – Best Actor (Boy in the Cardboard Box)

Jodie Bushby – Best Actress (Here’s the Thing)

3rd Place: Boy in the Cardboard Box by Rainee Skinner
Best Actor (right) Stephen Moore. Adjudicator’s Award (left) Gail Evans).

Adjudicator’s Awards (special mentions) to Nathan Hynes and Gail Evans.

2nd Place: Three Angry Brides by Hugh O’Brien
Adjudicator’s Award Nathan Hynes

0 Responses to “2012 National One-Act Playwriting Festival Results”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: